Header Ads

The Complete List of serving Lt Generals of the Indian Army

Lieutenant general, lieutenant-general and similar (abbrev Lt Gen, LTG and similar) is a military rank (NATO code OF-8) used in many countries. The rank traces its origins to the Middle Ages, where the title of lieutenant general was held by the second in command on the battlefield, who was normally subordinate to a captain general. In modern armies, lieutenant general normally ranks immediately below general and above major general; it is equivalent to the navy rank of vice admiral, and in air forces with a separate rank structure, it is equivalent to air marshal. A lieutenant general commands an army corps, made up of typically three army divisions, and consisting of around 60,000–70,000 soldiers (U.S.).

The seeming incongruity that a lieutenant general outranks a major general, (while a major outranks a lieutenant), is due to the derivation of the latter rank from sergeant major general, which was also subordinate to lieutenant general. In some countries, (e.g. France and Italy), the ranks of corps general or lieutenant colonel general are used instead of lieutenant general, in an attempt to solve this apparent anomaly – these ranks are often translated into English as lieutenant general. In a number of states, the rank of lieutenant general is the highest army rank in use. In Latvia, Lithuania and Singapore, the chief of defence is a lieutenant general, and in the Irish Defence Forces and Israeli forces, the Chief of Staff holds this rank.

This is the list of serving Generals of the Indian Army

    Gen Dalbir Singh Suhag, Chief of Army Staff
    Lt Gen MMS Rai, Vice Chief of Army Staff
    Lt Gen KG Krishna, DG Military Intelligence
    Lt Gen Praveen Bakshi, Eastern Commander
    Lt Gen Bipin Rawat, Commander, 3 Corps.
    Lt Gen Sarath Chand, Commander, 4 Corps
    Lt Gen Govind Singh Chandel, Commander, 23 Corps
    Lt Gen Rajan Bakhshi, Central Commander
    Lt Gen DS Hooda, Northern Commander
    Lt Gen Raymond Joseph Noronha, Commander, 14 Corps
    Lt Gen Satish Dua, Commander, 15 Corps
    Lt Gen Konsam Hilaya Singh, Commander, 16 Corps
    Lt Gen Ashok Singh, Southern Commander
    Lt Gen Bobby Mathews, Commander, 12 Corps
    Lt Gen RV Kanitkar, Commander, 21 Corps
    Lt Gen Arun Kumar Sahni, South Western Commander
    Lt Gen Navkiran Singh Ghei, Commander, 10 Corps
    Lt Gen Ashok Bhim Shivane, Commander, 1 Corps
    Lt Gen Kamal Jit Singh, Western Commander
    Lt Gen Ravindra Pratap Sahi]l, Commander, 2 Corps
    Lt Gen Anil Bhalla, Commander, 9 Corps
    Lt Gen Ashwini Kumar Bakshi, Commander, 11 Corps
    Lt Gen PM Hariz, Training Commander
    Lt Gen Amit Sharma, Commander, Strategic Forces
    Lt Gen C.A. Krishnan, Dy Chief of Army Staff (Planning & Systems)
    Lt Gen Gurmeet Singh, Dy Chief of Army Staff (Information Systems & Training)
    Lt Gen Sanjeev Anand, Adjutant General [28]
    Lt Gen Om Prakash, Quartermaster General
    Lt Gen Amarjeet Singh Chabbewal, Master General of Ordnance

    Lt Gen Subrata Saha, DG Military Operations
    Lt Gen Sanjay Kulkarni, DG Mechanised Forces
    Lt Gen GS Katoch, DG Perspective Planning
    Lt Gen IS Singha, DG Operational Logistics
    Lt Gen Shokin Chauhan, Commander 1 Corps
    Lt Gen BK Chopra, DG Armed Forces Medical Services
    Lt Gen Vijay Narula, DG Artillery [38]
    Lt Gen V.K. Saxena, DG Army Air Defence
    Lt Gen Sanjiv Talwar, Engineer-in-Chief
    Lt Gen Nitin Kumar Kohli, SO-in-C
    Lt Gen Rajendra Prasad Rai, DG Army Service Corps (S&T)
    Lt Gen Gautam Moorthy, DG Ordnance Services
    Lt Gen NB Singh, DG EME
    Lt Gen NS Kanwar, Remound and Veterinary Services
    Lt Gen Sunil Chandra, ADG Army Educational Corps
    Lt Gen AK Shori, ADG Army Postal Services
    Lt Gen Rameshwar Yadav, DG Infantry
    Lt Gen AS Nandal, DG Rashtriya Rifles
    Lt Gen JS Matharu, DG Information System
Powered by Blogger.