Header Ads

GDGSU Silver Jubilee celebrations begins with call for Creation of GAC

Sarupathar: All Assam Gorkha Students’ Union (AAGSU)’s 38th Foundation Day and Golaghat District Gorkha Students Union (GDGSU)’s silver celebrations began today here at Podumuni, Gorkha Maidan under Dhansiri Subdivision, Golaghat Assam with a three day program. Inaugural day began with hoisting of the AAGSU flag by Prem Newar, president AAGSU Golaghat District Committee followed by hosting of silver jubilee flag by founder General Secretary of Golaghat District Gorkha Students Union (GDGSU) and president of Silver Jubilee Reception Committee Shri. Joy Singh Rai and homage to the martyrs by Moni Kumar Limboo General Secretary AAGSU Golaghat District Committee with a minute long remembrance to the recent deaths of massacre in Assam. Former publicity secretary and central executive member and senior leader of AAGSU Nanda Kirati Dewan graced the occasion as Special Guest of Honour and inaugurated the VIP Guest House, main gate and offices of several departments like literature, culture, volunteer s.

The delegates hall was inaugurated by Tanka Karki former president of GDGSU while ex president of Dhansiri District Assam Gorkha Sammelan Bharat Thapa inaugurated the delegates house. Addressing the inaugural day of silver jubilee of GDGSU and 38th foundation day of AAGSU Nanda Kirati Dewan said,’ 2015 is the Diamond Jubilee year of organized Gorkha Students Union in Assam (1955-2015) and on the eve of 60th Years of Gorkha Students Union in Assam the state wide All Assam Gorkha Students' Union celebrates its 38th Foundation today as the state wide Gorkha students’ union was first formed on 26th Dec 1976 at Paltan Bazar in Guwahati under the leadership od Dr. Harkha Bahadur Chhetri and Dambar Mani Pradhan. However the history of organized Gorkha students union dates back to 1955 with formation of Darrang Gorkha Chhatra Sangh in middle Assam followed by Digboi Gorkha Chatra Sangh in upper Assam and Greater Guwahati Gorkha Chatra Sangh etc. 

In 2014 we stepped in the 70th year of Assam Pradeshik Gorkha League the Assam unit of All India Gorkha League (AIGL) which later was rechristened as Assam Gorkha Sammelan after the Garhpal conference in 1966. Over the 70 years of organization in Assam, what the Gorkhas achieved is very meager.’ AAGSU’s Sr. Leader further added, ‘As I introspect 60 years of Gorkha Students union in Assam I see the Gorkhas have entangled conflict of indigenousity and ethnicity marred by identity crisis time and again and autonomy that is Gorkha Autonomous Council (GAC) is the only solution to resolve the issues and concerns of the Gorkhas in Assam. As the Gorkhas in Golaghat celebrates 25 years of successful organisation, I must congratulate ourselves for having the first martyr Birbal Limboo from Doyang region of Golaghat. GDGSU have played a pivotal role in raising the demand of Gorkha Autonomous Council (GAC) since 2002. 

Later replying to queries of the medapersons regarding renewing demand of GAC in Sarupathar Dewan said, ‘Gorkha Autonomos Council(GAC) is a decade long demand of the Gorkhas in Assam raised by All Assam Gorkha Students’ Union (AAGSU) since 2002. Gorkhas of Assam I am referring to are those communities in Assam which have been living in ancient Assam i.e Kamrupa days and even before, which also has its roots in various regions of present day in India like Himachal Pradesh, Uttarkhand, Sikkim and proposed Gorkhaland and subsequently in British days the ex-Army Gorkha soldiers who were settled in Assam. Today all their descendants in the geography of Assam here I am using the terminology ‘Gorkhas of Assam or Gorkhas’ certainly not the Nepali (Nepali nationals in India and Assam who migrated to a foreign land abiding a treaty) the reciprocal one. 

 The last executive meeting of AAGSU Golaghat district committee was presided over by its president Prem Newar to pave the way for Delegate Session of Golaghat District Gorkha Students’ Union to be held from 5pm and to be inaugurated by Romeo P Narzary, General Secretary, All Bodo Students’ Union (ABSU). The delegate session this evening will constitute new AAGSU Golaghat District Committee. Mouth piece editor of AAGSU Purushattam Subba and AAGSU CEM Nanda Kirati Dewan along with AAGSU Advisor Bhim Bahadur Rai are observers of the delegate session. Tonight natives and ex-AAGSU workers will perform in the cultural nite. A get together and felicitation of ex-GDGSU leaders is organised tomorrow. 


Powered by Blogger.