Header Ads

Ram Prasad Sharma : Another Gorkha in Loksabha from Assam

GUWAHATI : Riding on a countrywide wave in favour of Narendra Modi, the Bharatiya Janata Party won seven of the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam, Tezpur constituency to its tally as its Gorkha candidate Ram Prasad Sarma defeated Bhupen Bora of the Congress by a margin of 86,020 votes to get elected to the Lok Sabha. It is the worst ever performance of the Congress in Assam and even the two Central Ministers Paban Singh Ghatowar and Ranee Narah had to bite the dust. The previous worst for the Congress was in 1985 as it faced a strong pro-Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) wave immediately after the signing of the Assam Accord and that year, the party managed to win only four seats.

Ram Prasad Sharma is a Bharatiya Janata Party politician from Assam. He is an advocate at the Gauhati High Court, and has been fielded as the candidate from the Tezpur constituency by his party in the Indian general election, 2014. He did his Bachelor of Laws From Tura Law College in 1980-81 and Bachelor of Arts From Mendipathar College in 1976.

Loksabha Results

Assam - Tezpur
Result Declared
Candidate PartyVotes
RAM PRASAD SHARMABharatiya Janata Party446511
BHUPEN KUMAR BORAHIndian National Congress360491
MONI KUMAR SUBBAIndependent62730
JOSEPH TOPPOAsom Gana Parishad40489
KHEMRAJ CHETRYCommunist Party of India (Marxist)24910
LAKSHIKANTA KURMICommunist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation)10725
GOPI CHAND SHAHABADIAll India Trinamool Congress8712
ELIAS KUJURIndependent5207
RAJEN SAIKIAAll India Forward Bloc4246
None of the AboveNone of the Above16667
Last Updated at 1:14 PM On 17/5/2014

Powered by Blogger.