Header Ads

Police, District Admin brief political parties on vote calculation

GANGTOK : Candidates and representatives of various political parties, the returning officer and the superintendent of police (East) participated in a meeting held at the Conference Hall of the Sichey administrative centre to discuss arrangements for the vote calculation scheduled on May 16. District Collector (East) AK Singh expressed his gratitude to all candidates and representatives of parties for their cooperation. He briefed about the process of calculation saying seven tables each for the assembly and the parliamentary constituencies will be provided for counting votes from the EVMs, while two more tables will be set aside for counting the postal ballots. Singh educated the candidates on the procedure of appointing counting agents for each table and clarified that each candidate will get to appoint one polling agent. Preparations for vote calculation are under way at the TNA auditorium and will be completed May 12. It was further informed that entry to the counting hall will be strictly restricted to identity card-holders. 

No mobile phones or electronic gadgets will be allowed inside the hall. A media centre has been set up at the Golden Temple located next to the counting hall with all communication facilities available, added Singh. He further said the results for each round will be available on the official website of Election Commission, at www.eastsikkim.in. The official Facebook page of the Gangtok DM will also update the scores at the end of each round, said the district collector. In addition, Singh said all sector magistrates and police officials along with videographers will be deployed at their respective locations May 12 onwards for maintaining law and order. Besides, a control room of the district administration with a toll free helpline number 04592-200055 will also be active. East Sikkim SP Manoj Tiwari assured adequate security provisions will be made throughout the district. Two vehicles each will be allowed for assembly constituency candidates and three each for parliamentary constituency candidates at the TNA Ground, while all other vehicles will be diverted to Palzor Stadium, Guards Ground and other predetermined places, noted the SP.
Powered by Blogger.