Header Ads

‘Kalebung Ratna’ awarded to hometown scientist Sunil Kaul

KALIMPONG : The Kalimpong Press Club marked its 16th birth anniversary by presenting hometown boy and medical scientist Sunil Kaul with the sixth ‘Kalebung Ratna’ award. A programme was held in the Town Hall to confer the prestigious award to Kaul, who is presently in Japan working on ways to overcome an illness as life-threatening as cancer. The KPC’s birth anniversary was an ideal platform to felicitate the lad from Kalimpong who has made the entire region proud by his work. The chief guests at the event were Indian Journalists’ Union member Geetartha Pathak and GTA deputy chairman Lobsang Lama. They presented Kaul with a memento, certificate and a trophy. Lama was also requested to present this year’s ‘Excellence in Journalism’ award to Pramod Giri, a reporter with the Hindustan Times who is based in Siliguri. Giri also happens to be the president of the Siliguri Journalists’ Club. “I have worked a lot for the outside world and desire to do something worthwhile for Kalimpong now,” said Kaul while accepting the honour.

Meanwhile, Giri spoke on the necessity of taking up journalism with responsibility, adding he ignored opportunities from the police and education departments for a career in journalism. “Journalism is like an addiction,” he said, “but it also involves a lot of responsibility and fearlessness.” Giri added scribes may not get to become wealthy in life, but they should never fall prey to yellow journalism. He also narrated the difficult times he had to endure in the early stages of his career. KPC secretary AK Rai read out to the audience some useful tips on journalism penned by noted journalist Swaraj Thapa, who is currently associated with the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha. Perhaps due to his political leanings, Thapa claimed a newspaper is always associated with one political outfit or another. The club also awarded winners of a photography competition it had organised, with the first prize going to Palsang Tshering Lama, the second to Bhuwan Bomzon and the third to Ashwin Sharma. 

Powered by Blogger.